The International Conference “Agreement, Non Agreement and… Disagreement” is the 31st annual conference organised by the CerLiCO Association which brings together linguists from different universities of the West and South-West of France working in various fields of linguistics.

The term agreement, a relative latecomer in grammatical tradition, has been used to refernot only to agreement in the strict grammatical sense of the word, but also to phenomena pertaining to complementarity. This dual usageno doubt led the notion to develop, in connection with congruence (what Appolonius Dyscolus termed katellètotès), concord in the humanist tradition (concordantia) or in Du Marsais’ article (“Concordance” in theEncyclopédie), or appropriateness in the Grammaire de Port-Royal (convenance, from Latin conuenientia). Hence the association found in more recent descriptions between such notions as case agreement, declension, tense agreement, inflection, to name but a few.

The Poitiers conference has been designed as the second part of a two-year cycle on the same topic. The first conference in Nantes in 2016, entitled ‘Agreement and non-agreement’, mainly explored various morphosyntactic aspects of agreement and non-agreement. The 2017 Conference in Poitiers addresses the discursive and pragmatic aspects of the issues of agreement, non-agreement as well asdisagreement, in relation to morphosyntactic units. A central question iswhether disagreement may be considered as the absence of agreement, the refusal of agreement, the mere opposite of agreement or as a specific semantic-pragmatic construction. The linguistic and cognitive processes at work in expressing agreement and disagreement will be discussed: should agreement be considered from a collaborative perspective as the alignment of different points of view and can disagreement be seen as simple dissonance?

The Conference papers reflect monolingual or cross-linguistic approachesbased on various kinds of corpora (written, oral and/or multimodal), dealing with dialogical and interlocutory markersof assertion (okay, right, uh-uh, oui, voilà, c’est ça, vale, si, de acuerdo), refusal (no, non, non non) and/or contradiction  (but, yet, mais, mais oui, ben si, si si, tu parles) but studies including prosodicand non verbal features are also welcome.

Le colloque intitulé « Accord, non accord et …désaccord » est le 31° colloque organisé annuellement par l’association CerLiCO, qui regroupe des linguistes exerçant dans les universités de l’Ouest et du Sud-ouest de la France.

Le terme d’accord apparu tardivement dans la tradition grammaticale sert aussi bien à désigner des phénomènes de complémentarité que d’accord à proprement parler. On peut alors supposer que cette dualité a servi au déploiement de la notion qui se trouve rattachée parfois à la congruence (katellètotès d’Apollonius Dyscole), à la concordance dans la tradition humaniste, ou chez Du Marsais (art. « Concordance », Encyclopédie), ou à la convenance dans la grammaire de Port Royal. Ainsi peut-on trouver associées dans des descriptions plus récentes les notions d’accord casuel, déclinaison, accord des temps, inflexion, pour n’en citer que quelques unes.

Le thème envisagé se situe dans le prolongement d’un premier colloque qui s’est déroulé à Nantes en 2016 où ont été développés essentiellement les aspects morphosyntaxiques de la problématique de l’accord. Le colloque de 2017 souhaite aller au-delà des phénomènes morphosyntaxiques traités l’année précédente et propose d’aborder les aspects discursifs et pragmatiques de la question de l’accord et du désaccord, en relation avec les unités morphosyntaxiques. On se demandera si le désaccord est un refus d’accord, un manque d’accord, le simple « contraire » de l’accord ou encore une construction sémantico-pragmatique spécifique. On s’interrogera sur les processus langagiers et cognitifs à l’œuvre dans l’expression de l’accord et du désaccord : l’accord, dans une vision collaborative, est-il un alignement de points de vue ou non, et le désaccord peut-il être vu comme une simple « dissonance » ?

Les communications présentées au colloque intègrent des approches monolingues ou plurilingues s’appuyant sur différents types de corpus (écrit, oral et/ou multimodal) et traitant des marqueurs dialogiques et interlocutifs d’affirmation (okay, right, uh-uh, oui, voilà, c’est ça, vale, si, d’acuerdo), de refus (no, non, non non) et/ou de contradiction (but, yet, mais, mais oui, ben si, si si, tu parles), mais seront également présentées des études incluant des traits prosodiques et non verbaux.